Calebs Thoughts

Just another WordPress.com weblog

When I Say Yes and God Says No

Posted by caleblove on April 30, 2010

I wrote this poem a few months back when a friend came home early from her mission due to sickness. I started thinking about why god might turn us from doing something that we want so bad that may or may not be the best thing for us. Anyway here it is:

When I Say Yes and God Says No

I’m not a very humble man, I like things my own way.
I push and drive and work real hard to make the path I lay.
I include God in my thoughts and plans, cause I know it should be so;
But oftentimes I’ve fought with him, when I said yes and God said no.
I want to do what’s right I say, but you really make it hard,
I’m doing all the work and yet you’re holding all the cards
One would think you’d filled me in; and not let me get this low
I hang on by fingernails, when I say yes and you say no.

I continue arguing as I wander down dark paths
The obstacles before me, look like large and dangerous wraths
They obstruct my chosen course and cause me to move slow
I feel all alone and lost when I say yes and God says no

Finally now I’ve reached the end of my rocky path through life
I kneel before thee lord and ask why you caused me all this strife?
The plan I made was easier, I knew the way to go
If only you’d agreed with me and just said yes instead of no

God reached down and stood me up; then caused the sun to rise
Upon the dark and rocky road I took to reach the heaven’s skies
My son come stand here next to me, the road will clearly show
My purpose for rejecting you, when you said yes, why I said no

I stared in awe, the path I set led straight to danger’s gate;
The impairing obstacles saved me from a lost and fallen state
I thank thee lord for this great gift, for the wisdom I now know
It’s a gift that he has given us, when we say yes and he says no

Caleb Love

Leave a comment